“Traquair Castle”, a medieval royal hunting lodge dating back to 1107, takes its name from ‘tret’ or ‘tre’, of Celtic origin, meaning dwelling place or hamlet, and ‘quair’, meaning a stream with a winding course.
And in fact, from the rear of this glorious manor, complete with its own splendid maze, one can see where the Quair Burn joins the River Tweed a few hundred yards away.
Traquair, nestled in the midst of the vast Ettrick Forest, once provided a superb venue for many of Scotland’s Kings and Queens, all of whom regularly visited the grand lodge, whilst enjoying great royal hunting parties.
The Castle, having endured trials and tribulations of Scottish history over the centuries, finally came to rest in the hands of James Stewart who became the first Laird of Traquair in 1491.
It has since then remained in the same family and, after many years of loving restoration - including bringing its 18th century brewery back to life, it welcomes its distinguished guests with charming period, canopied beds, antique furniture and modern conveniences, all on a very warm and hospitable ‘bed and breakfast’ basis year round.
Facilities & Features Traquair Castle
- General services:
- Horseback Riding treks
- Dining Facilities:
- Restaurant on request,
- Restaurants nearby
Room facilities available Traquair Castle
- General Services Room:
- Ensuite bathroom,
- Fireplace in selected rooms